[Deep calls unto deep]

How is everyone doing?!

It’s so good to be back with another blog post. There have been many experiences that I’ve enjoyed recently of the Lord and of life in general and some that I haven’t haha. However, Romans 8:28 tells us that “…all things work together for good to those who love good and are called according to His purpose”. Recently a dear older brother in the Lord gave some members of our local congregation some fellowship about this verse. I will NEVER forget it because it was such a revolutionary word for me to hear. It also proves true through my own personal experience. The fellowship was something along this lines of this:

“I just encourage you all, even when you know you’re sinning, or in the worst situation, or in a situation that you KNOW is contrary to God, just to tell Him that you love Him anyway.”

The reason why we can and should do this is because our present circumstance or temporary situation doesn’t define who we are or what we will be. I have been in many a situations where I just thought to myself, “How did I get here? Am I still even a Christian?” All the while I would still have this sense that I still truly do love my God but was just passing through a hard time. Therefore, when a situation that I feel is contrary to God arises in my life, and it starts in encompass me and it eventually engulfs me…I just calm my being and remind myself, “Lord Jesus I love You”, as well as “this too shall pass”.

This has been such a sweet experience for me because God’s love truly never fails. When the Bible tells us that ALL things work together for good we really have to stand on that in faith. Since we have been saved and set apart to God, everything is now under the category of “all things”. This is amazing.

Ok, now I would like to transition onto the main burden of this blog post: Deep calls unto deep.

There is a beautiful verse in the Psalms that reads: “Deep calls unto deep, at the sound of Your water spouts; all Your waves and Your billows pass over me”. The meaning of this verse can definitely be taken and seen differently by varying persons. The way I see this verse though is as a sort bringing forth or rousing. A spout is like a tornado over a body of water. It is a vortex which means it possesses some suction. Suction is good at rousing things and displacing; consider your household vacuum. When it is turned on dust and debris are roused and displaced from where it currently is. This may not be the best picture but I believe it’s clear enough.

We have a human spirit. ( 1 Thess. 5:23,24; Rom. 1:9; Haggai 1:14). God made us this way in order to contact Him. In order that there could be some deep calling unto deep. Many a times I am in a situation where the grace of God has been provided in such a strong way because I experience this deep calling. According to my Christian experiences thus far, the easiest way to enjoy grace is to call on the name of the Lord. There’s actually an entire website that I know that is dedicated to this matter of calling, (http://www.callingonthelord.org/).

When we call we really get the person of our God. He tells us that He is rich to all who call upon Him (Rom. 10:12). I believe the saving mentioned in this chapter is not only once for all but also daily, even moment by moment salvation. Many times we find ourselves in situations that are uncomfortable and unpleasant. However, we realize that this has been arranged in sovereignty by our God as apart of the “all things” (Rom. 8:28). Therefore what can we do? As I’ve learned, we can experience this deep calling and enjoy the waves and billows of the Lord passing over us. I don’t think that the waves and billows in this context are negative. The grace of God is frequently referred to as water, mainly as rivers. However, maybe in our immense struggles those rivers have turned into immense waves.

 

Grace

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

