[Praiseworthy Shepherding]

I just want to praise God this morning. I am so strengthened in my faith right now. It’s so good to know and really experience a God who is so near to us as to hear our prayers and cares so much as to answer them. Have you ever realized how near God is to us? This morning I am strongly and freshly reminded. Philippians 4:5 says “Let your forbearance be known to all men. The Lord is near.” What a sweet verse! The Lord is near. Acts 17: 27 and the first part of 28 say “That they might seek God, if perhaps they might grope for Him and find Him, even though He is not far from each one of us; 28 For in Him we live and move and are,…” Lastly, Romans 10 verse 8 says, “But what does it say? ‘The word is near you, in your mouth and in your heart,’ that is, the word of the faith which we proclaim,”. We know that to have God’s Word in us is equivalent to having God in us; Christ is the Word of God. God in Christ is so near, in our hearts as life and in our mouths as breath. In this way, He has no problem hearing and answering our prayers. He is apart of us, this proximity can be matched by none.

I like to think, and my experience testifies, that due to God’s nearness (even His indwelling within) He is the ideal shepherd, able to provide the best care. As I mentioned, God is not so far as to not hear our prayer, or the whispers of our heart in distress, or the frail prayers we utter in our weakness. He is our breath and life and is able to hear every word and know every feeling. He is literally touched with the feeling of our weakness and need (Heb. 4:15). In Philippians 4, after mentioning that the Lord is near in verse 5, it goes on to speak of prayer. Verse 6 and 7 read, “6 In nothing be anxious, but in everything, by prayer and petition with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses every man’s understanding, will guard your hearts and your thoughts in Christ Jesus.”

I had some real experience of this recently as I lost my wallet and was slightly concerned and seemingly inconvenienced. However, I have had enough experiences of Christ to know that all I could do was pray and wait. Yes I attempted to back track and call/ go to all the places where I believed it could be. There is a point though when every rock you know to turn has been turned and still nothing. It’s at that point where you just have to wait and pray. I haven’t found my wallet, yet which is fine. I praise the Lord anyways though because His work in His children is so good and He provides for all of our needs. Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.” Therefore I can rest assure because, correct me if I am wrong but wouldn’t this situation fall into the category of all things? If the Lord wanted me to find my wallet, my wallet would have been found. I’ve experienced that before, several times actually. However, this time, what needs to be found is just more Christ.

I may not have found my wallet, but Praise God, the Lord is near and the peace/grace abounds 🙂

Leave a Reply

